8 new states in 7 days

Spring break is the magical week in a college student’s year where you are free from the stress of school without holiday event obligations. Some people use this as an opportunity to just work their part time job and enjoy the free moments without the stress of class work. Others take the week off completely and run off to somewhere warmer with a lower drinking age. Traditionally my spring breaks have been spent with a day trip to Lake Michigan and working extra hours. This year though I’m going on one of the biggest trips I’ve ever done. A 7 day road trip to the Grand Canyon and back with, as I’ve said before, one of my favorite travel companions, my mom.

This trip has both of us beyond excited. Mom hasn’t been out west since she was a kid and I haven’t been out west at all or spent much time in the southern part of the U.S. So, it is going to be quite the adventure. With 11+ hours of driving most days I can only begin to imagine the stories that will ensue. Not to mention including Michigan I have only been to 4 of the 12 states we’ll be driving through. That is 8, count ‘em EIGHT, new states in just seven days. I’ll be seeing Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, Colorado, and Nebraska all for the first time. We’ll be driving alongside the legendary route 66 all the way to Arizona which blows my mind every time I think about it. This is going to be an actual out west, red rock, John Wayne’s movie settings kind of trip and I absolutely cannot contain my excitement.

If you’ve been/live in these states and have any must see suggestions feel free to comment!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑